Wed, November 13, 2013

Waiting on White Space by Ilsa J. Bick

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine to shine a spotlight on upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

White Space book cover

White Space
By Ilsa J. Bick
EgmontUSA, 560 pages
To be released Feb. 11, 2014

Ilsa Bick’s WHITE SPACE, pitched as The Matrix meets Inkheart, about a seventeen-year-old girl who jumps between the lines of books and into the white space where realities are created and destroyed – but who may herself be nothing more than a character written into being from an alternative universe.

— Goodreads.com description

Okay, so the full description isn’t even on Goodreads for this book, but I don’t care — I already know I’m going to read it. This character can jump between the lines of books! How fun is that!

Plus, I love all things Matrix-y.

Plus, it’s Ilsa J. Bick. Her Ashes series is basically the most brutal thing I’ve ever read but I — me, Miss Kissing Books — totally enjoyed it nonetheless. Takes talent to get me to like gruesome zombie attack murder books — I’m just saying!

Anna Reads young adult book blog

Posted by: Anna   •   In: ilsa j. bick, wow
4

Wed, October 30, 2013

Waiting on Nearly Gone by Elle Cosimano

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine to shine a spotlight on upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Nearly Gone book cover

Nearly Gone
By Elle Cosimano
Kathy Dawson Books, 388 pages
To be released March 25, 2014

Bones meets Fringe in a big, dark, scary, brilliantly-plotted urban thriller that will leave you guessing until the very end.

Nearly Boswell knows how to keep secrets. Living in a DC trailer park, she knows better than to share anything that would make her a target with her classmates. Like her mother’s job as an exotic dancer, her obsession with the personal ads, and especially the emotions she can taste when she brushes against someone’s skin. But when a serial killer goes on a killing spree and starts attacking students, leaving cryptic ads in the newspaper that only Nearly can decipher, she confides in the one person she shouldn’t trust: the new guy at school—a reformed bad boy working undercover for the police, doing surveillance. . . on her.

Nearly might be the one person who can put all the clues together, and if she doesn’t figure it all out soon—she’ll be next.

— Goodreads.com description

Is it supernatural or can she just break codes? I don’t know, but either way I like it. Plus, the guy is spying on her for the cops? Love that! Sort of reminds me of Lisa McMann’s Wake series where the kids had to go undercover.

Anna Reads young adult book blog

Posted by: Anna   •   In: elle cosimano, wow
11

Wed, October 23, 2013

Waiting on The Sound of Letting Go

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine to shine a spotlight on upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

The Sound of Letting Go book cover

The Sound of Letting Go
By Stasia Kehoe Ward
Viking Children’s, 400 pages
To be released Feb. 6, 2014

For sixteen years, Daisy has been good. A good daughter, helping out with her autistic younger brother uncomplainingly. A good friend, even when her best friend makes her feel like a third wheel. When her parents announce they’re sending her brother to an institution—without consulting her—Daisy’s furious, and decides the best way to be a good sister is to start being bad. She quits jazz band and orchestra, slacks in school, and falls for bad-boy Dave.

But one person won’t let Daisy forget who she used to be: Irish exchange student and brilliant musician Cal. Does she want the bad boy or the prodigy? Should she side with her parents or protect her brother? How can she know when to hold on and when—and how—to let go?

— Goodreads.com description

You had me at “Irish exchange student,” book description. I haven’t read anything by Stasia Kehoe Ward yet. Did you guys try her book Audition? Was it any good?

Anna Reads young adult book blog

Posted by: Anna   •   In: stasia kehoe ward, wow
10

Wed, October 16, 2013

Waiting on Minders by Michele Jaffe

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine to shine a spotlight on upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Minders book cover

Minders
By Michele Jaffe
Razorbill, 400 pages
To be released Jan. 30, 2014

A high concept, cinematic read with a surprising twist, MINDERS asks the question: who is really watching who?

Q: If the boy you love commits a crime, would you turn him in?

Sadie Ames is a type-A teenager from the wealthy suburbs. She’s been accepted to the prestigious Mind Corps Fellowship program, where she’ll spend six weeks as an observer inside the head of Ford, a troubled boy with a passion for the crumbling architecture of the inner city. There’s just one problem: Sadie’s fallen in love with him.

Q: What if the crime is murder?

Ford Winters is haunted by the murder of his older brother, James. As Sadie falls deeper into his world, dazzled by the shimmering pinpricks of color that form images in his mind, she begins to think she knows him. Then Ford does something unthinkable.

Q: What if you saw it happen from inside his mind?

Back in her own body, Sadie is faced with the ultimate dilemma. With Ford’s life in her hands, she must decide what is right and what is wrong. And how well she can really ever know someone, even someone she loves.

— Goodreads.com description

Whoa, what an interesting concept. I like the ethical questions this one’s going to bring up. Plus, I don’t think I’ve ever read a full book by Michele Jaffe — just short stories — so I’m excited for a new book AND new author to try!

Anna Reads young adult book blog

Posted by: Anna   •   In: michele jaffe, wow
6

Wed, October 9, 2013

Waiting on Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine to shine a spotlight on upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Uninvited book cover

Uninvited
By Sophie Jordan
HarperTeen, 384 pages
To be released Jan. 28, 2014

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

— Goodreads.com description

Sounds creepy-good, right? Isn’t there a show that’s about something like this on ABC Family? I can’t think of the name and never saw it, but I think I remember the ads. Anyway, I adore Sophie Jordan — especially her adult books. Can’t wait ot try something new from her!

Anna Reads young adult book blog

PS: Last week, my mom said she thought my “Waiting on Wednesday” books were too many months out. I mean, I’m actually starting to look at March 2014 books right now. Would you rather see books closer to being released or recently announced titles? Please let me know in the comments — I’m curious!

Posted by: Anna   •   In: sophie jordan, wow
9