Thu, February 21, 2013

Shades of Earth by Beth Revis Review

Shades of Earth book cover

Shades of Earth book cover

Shades of Earth
By Beth Revis
Publication date: Jan. 15, 2013
Razorbill, 369 pages
Source: Borrowed

The final book in the New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Galactica and Prometheus!

Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceship Godspeed behind. They’re ready to start life afresh–to build a home–on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion miles across the universe to experience.

But this new Earth isn’t the paradise Amy had been hoping for. There are giant pterodactyl-like birds, purple flowers with mind-numbing toxins, and mysterious, unexplained ruins that hold more secrets than their stone walls first let on. The biggest secret of all? Godspeed’s former passengers aren’t alone on this planet. And if they’re going to stay, they’ll have to fight.

Amy and Elder must race to discover who–or what–else is out there if they are to have any hope of saving their struggling colony and building a future together. They will have to look inward to the very core of what makes them human on this, their most harrowing journey yet. Because if the colony collapses? Then everything they have sacrificed–friends, family, life on Earth–will have been for nothing.

— Goodreads.com description

I have to praise Beth Revis for one thing about this book specially: In a million years, I would never have guessed what Shades of Earth was about. I mean, sure, I read the book description. But the setting was so hugely different from the previous two books that it still felt surprising. I missed the spaceship, but it was ultimately a refreshing change of pace.

I had some issues with the finale to this series — namely I was SO ANGRY with Amy for practically the entire book — and it was probably my least favorite of the three, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. I can’t complain about Amy’s actions, really, as what I’ve always loved about this series is that although Amy and Elder were drawn together instantly, it took a looooooong time and a lot of work for them to get together. In the world of instalove, it felt special to watch their trepidation and the growth of their relationship.

Fans of sci fi: If you haven’t read this series yet, all three books out there, so now is the time! Get on it!

Previous reviews:
Across the Universe
A Million Suns

Anna Reads young adult book blog

Posted by: Anna   •   In: beth revis, science fiction
12

Wed, July 11, 2012

Waiting on Shades of Earth by Beth Revis

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine to shine a spotlight on upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Shades of Earth by Beth Revis book cover

Shades of Earth
By Beth Revis
Razorbill, 400 pages
To be released Jan. 15, 2013

The final book in the trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Beth Revis!

Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceship Godspeed behind. They’re ready to start life afresh–to build a home–on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion miles across the universe to experience. But this new Earth isn’t the paradise that Amy had been hoping for. Amy and Elder must race to uncover who–or what–else is out there if they are to have any hope of saving their struggling colony and building a future together. But as each new discovery brings more danger, Amy and Elder will have to look inward to the very fabric of what makes them human on this, their most harrowing journey yet. Because if the colony collapses? Then everything they have sacrificed–friends, family, life on Earth–will have been meaningless.

— Goodreads.com description

You guys know what this is, right? The third book in the series that began with Across the Universe!

Check out my review of book 1, Across the Universe.

And of book 2, A Million Suns.

Beth Revis, you continue to rock my world (universe? It’s intergalactic rocking, really) with each book in this series. What will happen next!? Dying to find out. But I do know Amy and Elder better get their acts together, for real.

Anna Reads young adult book blog

Posted by: Anna   •   In: beth revis, wow
14

Mon, December 19, 2011

A Million Suns by Beth Revis Review

A Million Suns
By Beth Revis

Jan. 10, 2012
Razorbill, 400 pages
Source: From Sash, who spoils me

Godspeed was fueled by lies. Now it is ruled by chaos.

It’s been three months since Amy was unplugged. The life she always knew is over. And everywhere she looks, she sees the walls of the spaceship Godspeed. But there may just be hope: Elder has assumed leadership of the ship. He’s finally free to enact his vision – no more Phydus, no more lies.

But when Elder discovers shocking news about the ship, he and Amy race to discover the truth behind life on Godspeed. They must work together to unlock a puzzle that was set in motion hundreds of years earlier, unable to fight the romance that’s growing between them and the chaos that threatens to tear them apart.

In book two of the Across the Universe trilogy, New York Times bestselling author Beth Revis mesmerizes us again with a brilliantly crafted mystery filled with action, suspense, romance, and deep philosophical questions. And this time it all builds to one mind-bending conclusion: They have to get off this ship.

— Amazon.com description

This book left me breathless and gasping and oh the suspense is MURDEROUS. If you were a fan of the first book in this series, Across the Universe, you’re going to be thrilled. If you love sci-fi but haven’t tried book one yet, holy cow get on it.

Normally when I read a book, I selfishly want (a) to know everything immediately and (b) for the love interests to pronounce their eternal love and start making out. But, wow, you know this series is special because I never felt rushed on either of these points throughout both books.

I sort of reveled in not knowing what was going to happen next or who to trust. It’s a constant surprise – be sure to protect yourself from spoilers.

And the romance? I love that it’s slow and uncertain and it takes Amy and Elder a lot of time before they decide to trust one another. Besides, it’s not like they don’t have other problems beside their maybe-relationship. It’s not instalove and it’s not all-consuming.

Truly, this is my favorite sci-fi series right now. Another deep, mesmerizing and thrilling read from Revis.

Anna Reads young adult book blog

Posted by: Anna   •   In: beth revis, science fiction
10

Thu, April 14, 2011

Across the Universe by Beth Revis Review

Across the Universe
By Beth Revis
January 1, 2011
Razorbill, 416 pages
Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone-one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship-tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

— Amazon.com description
This book is exactly what I wanted Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder to be. It’s a lovely mix of dystopian, sci-fi and suspense. Bonus: Map inside the cover. Of a spaceship.

Across the Universe pleasantly surprised me because it took a lot of my common complaints about YA books and turned them around on me. How’d you manage that, Beth Revis?

1. First of all: The hype. What a turn-off…usually. This time, it was well-deserved.

2. I’m a romantic (oh, couldn’t you tell?), but I’m really happy that this book focused less on love and more on honesty. The themes here were just brilliant.

3. I really dislike alternating points of view, but Revis did a splendid job here. The switches never felt like they were retellings, rather chances to share some new, important information that happened while the reader was caught up with another character.

4. There’s nothing worse than a predictable book. But while I saw through some of the plot twists, I had no problem getting over them because the path to those twists was so enjoyable. And a subtle surprise did startle me at the end of the book when I least expected it. Refreshing!

5. Last but not least (SPOILER ALERT): I’m usually a girl who likes her endings tied up in a nice little bow. But this one wasn’t, and yet I loved it. It ended ambiguously, but with a great sense of hope and forgiveness, and that felt just right to me.

What the what, right!? B. Revis = miracle worker. Kudos, ’cause I am a changed woman.

You might also like: Another dystopian read, Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Anna Reads young adult book blog
Posted by: Anna   •   In: beth revis, dystopian, love it, romance, science fiction
17