Wed, October 8, 2014

Like No Other by Una LaMarche Review

Like No Other book cover

Like No Other book cover

Like No Other
By Una LaMarche
Publication date: July 24, 2014
Razorbill, 352 pages
Source: Library

**A Publishers Weekly Best Book of Summer 2014**
**A Summer 2014 Indie Next List Pick**
**A 2014 Junior Library Guild Selection**
**A Los Angeles Times Summer Reading Guide Selection**
**An Entertainment Weekly YA Novel to Watch Out For**

Fate brought them together. Will life tear them apart?

Devorah is a consummate good girl who has never challenged the ways of her strict Hasidic upbringing.

Jaxon is a fun-loving, book-smart nerd who has never been comfortable around girls (unless you count his four younger sisters).

They’ve spent their entire lives in Brooklyn, on opposite sides of the same street. Their paths never crossed . . . until one day, they did.

When a hurricane strikes the Northeast, the pair becomes stranded in an elevator together, where fate leaves them no choice but to make an otherwise risky connection.

Though their relation is strictly forbidden, Devorah and Jax arrange secret meetings and risk everything to be together. But how far can they go? Just how much are they willing to give up?

In the timeless tradition of West Side Story and Crossing Delancey, this thoroughly modern take on romance will inspire laughter, tears, and the belief that love can happen when and where you least expect it.

— Goodreads.com description

Think of all the books you’ve been told were perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park.

Now think of how many times you’ve been disappointed as a result, when the book doesn’t hold up to those standards.

Now listen up: This book really IS a good “what to read next” pick for fans of Eleanor & Park. Would I lie to you?!

Two quirky but good, kind kids fall in unexpected love. Life circumstances keep them apart. You feel their love and excitement and frustration all jumbled up on the pages. Ahh, forbidden love, you get me every time!

It’s dreadfully romantic and heartbreaking and…well…unsettling, frankly. I could not stop thinking about what happened next, unable to let the characters go. Devorah! Jax! What are you doing right now? I NEED TO KNOW. I have such a love/hate relationship with that feeling. It’s like “Una LaMarche, do you enjoy making me feel so miserable?!”/”Una LaMarche, thank you for making me feel so miserable!”

See? Jumbled. But good jumbled regardless.

Anna Reads young adult book blog

PS: I will say I know nothing about Hasidic Judaism and wonder if having a personal connection to that world would have changed my viewpoint? I’d be curious to hear from someone who read it with more background than me.

Share this:
Facebook Twitter Email
Posted by: Anna   •   In: romance, una lamarche
2

2 Comments

  1. Pam@YAEscapefromReality said:

    I just got this from the library today. Is it an ambiguous ending??? That’s what it sounds like, which I cannot take. I guess E&P was a bit like that too. Let me know! 🙂

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Wed, October 8, 2014

  2. We Heart YA said:

    Hm. We actually didn’t feel like it had the same vibe as E&P… but we did appreciate the story and its examination of two very different characters trying to fit into each other’s worlds!

    It was also our first choice for the YA Diversity Book Club back in July: http://www.weheartya.com/p/ya-diversity-book-club.html

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Wed, October 8, 2014

Leave a comment

Name

Email

URL

Comment   Some HTML okay. No links, please.