Mon, September 22, 2014

Falling into Place by Amy Zhang Review

Falling into Place book cover

Falling into Place book cover

Falling into Place
By Amy Zhang
Publication date: Sept. 9, 2014
Greenwillow Books, 304 pages
Source: Publisher

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

— Goodreads.com description

Despite the fact that I hated/didn’t remotely “get” the “unexpected and surprising narrator” mentioned in the blurb…this book was quite good overall.

Falling into Place is a fascinating look into depression, suicide and some really, really mean girls. I thought it was so interesting to get into Liz’s brain and see how she came to regret being a major B. Though they were quite flawed, I really enjoyed getting to know some of the people in Liz’s life as well — Kennie and Julia and dear, sweet Liam.

The short chapters made it so readable, but the timeline jumps threw me off at first. Don’t worry — I caught on. I was definitely very impressed by this debut from a writer who is a teen herself. (I KNOW!!! CRAZY!)

Anna Reads young adult book blog

Share this:
Facebook Twitter Email
Posted by: Anna   •   In: amy zhang, death, friendship, suicide
3

3 Comments

  1. April Books & Wine said:

    I LOVED THIS BOOK TOO!

    And yeah, the narrator thing was odd and I kept trying to guess and the reveal was less than satisfactory!

    Also, yay review twins today!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, September 22, 2014

  2. Teen Underground said:

    I’m always so impressed by teen authors and excited to give their books a try, even when they’re not quite up to my normal standards for an adult writer. It’s nice to hear that this one was enjoyable, and I’ll definitely be reading it!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, September 22, 2014

  3. Sue said:

    I’ve had my eye on this book for a while. So happy you enjoyed it. Depression is a hard topic to get right in books.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, September 22, 2014

Leave a comment

Name

Email

URL

Comment   Some HTML okay. No links, please.