Tue, September 30, 2014

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Five Reasons

5 Reasons to Read I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

1 Jandy

I’ll Give You the Sun is Nelson’s first book since The Sky Is Everywhere in March 2010. I reviewed it way back in 2011 on the blog, saying:

The writing and mastery of the teen voice were just superb. Bring on Nelson’s next book!

Ahhh, if I only knew I’d be waiting this long! So glad the wait’s finally over. (Click here to flash back and read my review of The Sky Is Everywhere)

2 NYT

Go Jandy go Jandy go go go Jandy.

3 highlighter

Yeah. Every the anti-highligher folks and the people who cringe when they see a bent corner will be tempted. You should see how many gorgeous turns of phrase I highlighted on my Kindle.

A few examples:

His nose is like a capsized ship, his mouth the size of three, his jaw and cheekbones hefty as armor, and his eyes are iridescent. His face is a room overstuffed with massive furniture.

Isn’t that bizarre but also perfectly telling and descriptive? I also love Jandy’s use of hyperbole, which is the number one thing I loved about her first book:

I think the heart of every living thing on earth is beating in my body.

Ha. So emo. And there were a lot of occasions where I was like “YES! THIS EXACTLY! YOU PUT IT PERFECTLY!”

People die, I think, but your relationship with them doesn’t. It continues and is ever-changing.”

Gah. I love words.

4 insults

Speaking of words…the insults that come spewing out of Noah’s mouth are so creative and awesome, I had to highlight those too. “Garbage-headed scum-suckers,” for example. Or when he says: “I freeze, knowing immediately whose hippo-head the sneering asshat words are coming out of.”

Hahaha “hippo-head.” I’m so using that one.

reviews

AKA don’t just take my word for it.

Entertainment Weekly says:

Whether you’re at that age right now or you’ve forgotten what it feels like, I’ll Give You the Sun is that rare, immersive teen novel: To read it is a coming-of-age experience in itself.

Publishers Weekly:

Readers are meant to feel big things, and they will—Nelson’s novel brims with emotion (grief, longing, and love in particular) as Noah, Jude, and the broken individuals in their lives find ways to heal.

Kirkus:

Nelson’s prose scintillates.

Okay, convinced? Let me know if you’re going to be reading it…or already have! Blog tour details below for more info!

Anna Reads young adult book blog

unnamed

I'll Give You the Sun book cover

I’ll Give You the Sun
By Jandy Nelson
Publication date: Sept. 16, 2014
Dial, 371 pages
Source: Publisher

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell.

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

— Goodreads.com description

Jandy Nelson, like her characters in I’ll Give You the Sun, comes from a superstitious lot. She was tutored from a young age in the art of the four-leaf clover hunt; she knocks wood, throws salt, and carries charms in her pockets. Her debut novel, The Sky Is Everywhere, was on multiple Best Books of the Year lists, was a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults pick, earned numerous starred reviews, has been translated widely, and continues to enjoy great international success. Currently a full-time writer, Jandy lives and writes in San Francisco, California—not far from the settings ofThe Sky Is Everywhere and I’ll Give You the Sun. Visit her online at www.jandynelson.com or find her on twitter at @jandynelson.

Be sure to check out the rest of the blog tour, featuring guest posts, interviews, giveaways, and more!

Sept. 1 – Cuddlebuggery
Sept. 2 – Novel Sounds
Sept. 3 – Perpetual Page Turner
Sept. 4 – Forever Young Adult
Sept. 8 – The Young Folks
Sept. 9 – The Book Hookup
Sept. 10 – Grown Up Fangirl
Sept. 11 – Bewitched Bookworms
Sept. 15 – Candace’s Book Blog
Sept. 16 – Novel Novice
Sept. 17 – Alice Marvels
Sept. 18 – Icey Books
Sept. 22 – The Midnight Garden
Sept. 23 – The Starry-Eyed Revue
Sept. 24 – Tales of a Ravenous Reader
Sept. 25 – Katie’s Book Blog
Sept. 29 – GReads!
Sept. 30 – Anna Reads

And, for those of you in the U.S., enter below to win a copy of the new paperback version of The Sky Is Everywhere. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Share this:
Facebook Twitter Email
Posted by: Anna   •   In: Uncategorized
5

5 Comments

  1. Sarah C. said:

    I had seen mixed reviews on this one and wasn’t sure whether to try it or not, but you have convinced me! I really like the snippets and “pretty insults” you quoted. Sounds like my kind of book!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Tue, September 30, 2014

  2. Sharon @ The Book Barbies said:

    Ah, I am SO EXCITED for this one! Nelson’s writing was absolutely stunning in The Sky Is Everywhere, and I can’t wait to read more from her. ♥

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Tue, September 30, 2014

  3. Pam@YAEscapefromReality said:

    I’m planning on reading this one soon (I already bought it in hardback). I was happy to see the review in EW.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Tue, September 30, 2014

  4. Teen Underground said:

    I haven’t read anything but glowing praise of this one… including from one of my fellow librarians. I’m so excited to read it!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Tue, September 30, 2014

  5. Jamie said:

    YAS YAS YAS that is all.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Tue, September 30, 2014

Leave a comment

Name

Email

URL

Comment   Some HTML okay. No links, please.