Mon, July 7, 2014

Wildflower by Alecia Whitaker Review

Wildflower book cover

Wildflower book cover

Wildflower
By Alecia Whitaker
Publication date: July 1, 2014
Poppy, 320 pages
Source: Publisher

The best songs come from broken hearts.

Sixteen-year-old Bird Barrett has grown up on the road, singing backup in her family’s bluegrass band, and playing everywhere from Nashville, Tennesee to Nowhere, Oklahoma. One fateful night, Bird fills in for her dad by singing lead, and a scout in the audience offers her a spotlight all her own.

Soon Bird is caught up in a whirlwind of songwriting meetings, recording sessions, and music video shoots. Her first single hits the top twenty, and suddenly fans and paparazzi are around every corner. She’s even caught the eye of her longtime crush, fellow roving musician Adam Dean. With Bird’s star on the rise, though, tradition and ambition collide. Can Bird break out while staying true to her roots?

In a world of glamour and gold records, a young country music star finds her voice.

— Goodreads.com description

Wildflower by Alecia Whitaker is perfect for fans of Open Road Summer by Emery Lord or Dirty Little Secret by Jennifer Echols.

That is to say: If you like music and Nashville and country in your books, you’ll want to read this.

Personally, I love those things in books so it was up my alley. Plus, there were tons of interesting family dynamics that really caught my interest.

Still, I do have to say the ending was too abruptly tied up for me and got me thinking that maybe I was more attached to the setting and music aspects of the story than to the characters themselves.

Excellent bonus factor: I hear the finished version includes the sheet music to Bird’s song. How fun is that?!

Anna Reads young adult book blog

Share this:
Facebook Twitter Email
Posted by: Anna   •   In: alecia whitaker, family, music
2

2 Comments

  1. Sash from Sash and Em said:

    LOVED this one. And yes! the finished copies do have sheet music! I want more from this series – NOW!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, July 7, 2014

  2. April Books & Wine said:

    I am sold solely on the Dirty Little Secret comparison. I loved that book.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, July 7, 2014

Leave a comment

Name

Email

URL

Comment   Some HTML okay. No links, please.