Mon, July 14, 2014

17 First Kisses by Rachael Allen Review

17 First Kisses book cover

17 First Kisses book cover

17 First Kisses
By Rachael Allen
Publication date: June 17, 2014
HarperTeen, 352 pages
Source: Publisher

No matter how many boys Claire kisses, she can’t seem to find a decent boyfriend. Someone who wouldn’t rather date her gorgeous best friend, Megan. Someone who won’t freak out when he learns about the tragedy her family still hasn’t recovered from. Someone whose kisses can carry her away from her backwoods town for one fleeting moment.

Until Claire meets Luke.

But Megan is falling for Luke, too, and if there’s one thing Claire knows for sure, it’s that Megan’s pretty much irresistible.

With true love and best friendship on the line, Claire suddenly has everything to lose. And what she learns—about her crush, her friends, and most of all herself—makes the choices even harder.

In her moving debut, Rachael Allen brilliantly captures the complexities of friendship, the struggles of self-discovery, and the difficulties of trying to find love in high school. Fans of Sarah Ockler, Susane Colasanti, and Stephanie Perkins will fall head over heels for this addictive, heartfelt, and often hilarious modern love story.

— Goodreads.com description

Rachael Allen’s 17 First Kisses is filled with bitter female friendships, player dudes and plenty of backstabbing. Does that happen in high school? Oh yeah. All the time.

So maybe that’s why this was a bit of a rough read for me. I kept thinking of the poor girl out there somewhere who is actually dealing with this, and it made me feel sick to my stomach.

Still, I know a lot of you love this type of story and have much higher tolerance for it than I do. But, hey, I’m a wimp and I don’t deal well with cheating stories.

Yet, I had no problem reading through to the end – and I’m a big ole book quitter so I guess that means something. What do you think? Will you give it a try?

Anna Reads young adult book blog

Share this:
Facebook Twitter Email
Posted by: Anna   •   In: cheating, rachael allen
3

3 Comments

  1. Jess @ Such A Novel Idea said:

    While I don’t like the idea of cheating, it is something that happens and it is usually a more complex issue than just hooking up with someone else. Kind of like bullying books, it is hard to swallow, but it is something valid that happens and someone has to address it in YA.

    I thought this book had merit and the other subplots made it so much more interesting.

    Here’s my full thoughts on the book: Review!

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    I agree on your point about how it’s kind of like bullying — necessary and important to cover in YA fiction. 100%. But, for me, it’s just a hot-button issue and doesn’t work for me…but because I understand that’s not the case for everyone, I still wanted to highlight the book. Loved your comment — it’s so good to hear other points of view!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, July 14, 2014

  2. Hannah said:

    I’ve heard such mixed reviews about this book… I had it on my Amazon wishlist but it really doesn’t sound like I’m going to enjoy it if there’s so much backstabbing etc. If it’s done well (I’m thinking Some Girls Are or Just Listen) then there’s a place for it, but from what I’ve heard it’s pretty much commonplace in this one and done without a second thought… I may well read it a few months down the line but I’m not as intrigued by the premise as I was.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, July 14, 2014

Leave a comment

Name

Email

URL

Comment   Some HTML okay. No links, please.