Thu, May 15, 2014

Wish You Were Italian by Kristin Rae Review

Wish You Were Italian book cover

Wish You Were Italian book cover

Wish You Were Italian
By Kristin Rae
Publication date: May 6, 2014
Bloomsbury, 323 pages
Source: Publisher

Pippa has always wanted to go to Italy … but not by herself. And certainly not to sit in art school the entire summer learning about dead guys’ paintings. When she steps off the plane in Rome, she realizes that traveling solo gives her the freedom to do whatever she wants. So it’s arrivederci, boring art program and ciao, hot Italian guys!

Charming, daring, and romantic, Bruno is just the Italian Pippa’s looking for—except she keeps running into cute American archeology student Darren everywhere she goes. Pippa may be determined to fall in love with an Italian guy … but the electricity she feels with Darren says her heart might have other plans. Can Pippa figure out her feelings before her parents discover she left the program and—even worse—she loses her chance at love?

— Goodreads.com description

At first glance, this books like fluff.

Look again.

Sure, it’s got romance. And summer. And travel. AND GELATO.

But it’s also filled with interesting characters, friendship and family issues and a beautiful young woman who pushes herself to try new things. It’s an inspiring story and one that transports you as a reader, whether you’ve been to Italy or not.

Absolutely recommended, especially for fans of Just One Day and Wanderlove.

Anna Reads young adult book blog

PS: I couldn’t resist sharing some pictures of me in Italy — this book brought some nice memories back!

photo 1-2photo 2-2

Share this:
Facebook Twitter Email
Posted by: Anna   •   In: family, kristin rae, romance, travel
9

9 Comments

  1. Naomi said:

    I miss Italy. Sigh. Sounds like a great book!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, May 15, 2014

  2. Ginger @ GReads! said:

    I love that you saw more than just “fluff” in this book, too. I’ve seen other readers refer to it as “cute” and yes, it is that, but it’s also so much more! Look at you in Italy!! Beautiful.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, May 15, 2014

  3. Rossi said:

    Whoa, I love both Wanderlove and Just One Day… would you say this has the same kind of character growth as those? I’m worried this one might be a bit too cutesy, if you know what I mean 🙂 But I might give it a shot!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, May 15, 2014

  4. Brianna’s Bookish Confessions said:

    This book sounds super cute!! I love the title too! I love reading books that aren’t based in America. Especially ones in Europe! 😀

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, May 15, 2014

  5. Pam@YAEscapefromReality said:

    Ok, you had me at Wanderlove. I loved that book!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, May 15, 2014

  6. sponsor a child said:

    I agree with your conclusions and will eagerly look forward to your incoming updates. Just saying thanks will not just be adequate, for the wonderful clarity in your writing.It is imperative that we read blog post very carefully

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, May 15, 2014

  7. Alexa S. said:

    I loved Wish You Were Italian! It was seriously one of the most adorable books I’ve read all year, AND it had substance too. It also made me want to go to Italy…

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, May 15, 2014

  8. Meg @ A Bookish Affair said:

    I cannot wait to read this! I love Rome and I love Italy. This sounds like a cute book!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, May 15, 2014

  9. Katie said:

    Anything for fans of Just One Day and Wanderlove gets added to my TBR. Definitely going to read this one soon!

    Great review!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, May 15, 2014

Leave a comment

Name

Email

URL

Comment   Some HTML okay. No links, please.