Mon, April 28, 2014

Top 10 Books If You Like Star-Crossed


It’s Top 10 Tuesday (hosted at The Broke and the Bookish) and the topic is:

Top 10 Books If You Like Star-Crossed

Star-Crossed

Another “pick your own ending” topic today where we could select a TV show/movie/comic/etc. to prompt book choices.

Well, if you’re like me, you loved Roswell and wanted to love the new CW show Star-Crossed…but didn’t.

Sure, it’s got alien/human forbidden love, and teen angst, and Julie Taylor, and actually some interesting messages to share on acceptance and race and sexuality.

But it’s also got that one guy from The Nine Lives of Chloe King and a version of Aimee Teegarden that is soooo not Julie Taylor. So, yeah. Boo.

To make up for it, here are some books I think you’ll love that are delightfully alien!

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner book coverAlienated by Melissa Landers book coverObsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout book cover

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
Alienated by Melissa Landers
Obsidian by Jennifer Armentrout

Across the Universe by Beth Revis book coverThe 5th Wave by Rick Yancey book coverFor Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund book cover

Across the Universe by Beth Revis
The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund

The Host by Stephanie Meyer book coverCinder by Marissa Meyer book cover

The Host by Stephanie Meyer
Cinder by Marissa Meyer

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness book coverInside Out by Maria V. Snyder book cover

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder

Bonus shoutout to A Wrinkle in Time, which I adore but always think of as more middle-grade. And okay, I know the Peterfreund book was a bit of a stretch, but I heard it called “Jane Austen in space” once so it stuck.

Anna Reads young adult book blog

PS: Bonus friendship points to any of you who read the Roswell books in addition to the TV show. I may or may not still have my copies…

Share this:
Facebook Twitter Email
Posted by: Anna   •   In: music, top 10
27

27 Comments

  1. Rosie @ Rosie Reads said:

    Ah, The Host was so, so good! I haven’t read any others, but quite a few are on my list to read! 🙂

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    Did you see the movie? Definitely got caught up in that string of YA books-turned-movies that bombed. It was okay, but I probably would have really disliked it if I didn’t already love the book!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  2. Jazz @ Jazmin Jade Reviews said:

    Oh the Knife of never leting go sounds awesome I shall have to give that one a go.

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    Yes yes, that is a big favorite among other readers I know. Though, I have to admit: I have yet to read the remaining books in the series. Someday!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  3. Chrissi Reads said:

    I really love most of the books on your list this week. Those that I don’t yet love are definitely on my radar. I can see how they’d fit in with your Star-Crossed theme.

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    Thanks, Chrissi!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  4. Michelle @ Unraveling Books said:

    I actually LOVE starcrossed! Sure it’s no Roswell but I’m just happy that someone is giving an alien show a chance!

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    Well, I mean, I am still watching it — which says a lot! I un-DVR’ed (is that a word) a LOT of teen shows lately…so I’m at least giving it a few more episodes! Either way, ROSWELL. I’m so glad my love for that one is shared!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  5. Lucy @ The Reading Date said:

    I’ve never seen Star-Crossed, but I do like a lot of your alien-themed books! I’d watch the show to see what Julie Taylor is up to – sounds like quite a different role for her!

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    And the BIG thing about Julie Taylor is that she looks like a TOTALLY different person. (PS: Do you like how I call her Julie Taylor instead of her real name? HA!)

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  6. Aimee @ Deadly Darlings said:

    I have got to read more alien books! I recently finished Alienated and was pleasantly surprised. I love These Broken Stars, Across the Universe and Cinder! <3 For Darkness Shows the Stars was an okay read for me. Hated Obsidian and The 5th Wave, sadly. 🙁 I have got to watch Star-Crossed!

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    I think if I had to pick, These Broken Stars is my fave from the list. I get Obsidian — that book would definitely not be for everyone — but The 5th Wave? Really! Aww, I loved that one!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  7. Cait @ Notebook Sisters said:

    OH gosh! I already love SO many of those books, so this has worked in reverse for me. 😉 I want to check out that TV series! Although, heh, it sounds a bit dodgy??! I really love These Broken Stars and I can’t WAIT to read Alienated. My TTT!

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    You’ll definitely like Alienated if you’re into this topic. Report back if you read it — curious what you think!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  8. Ginger @ GReads! said:

    I really wanted to like Star-Crossed, too. Especially since I was a huge fan of Roswell. But sadly, I gave up after a few episodes. Not the main character, but the other alien high school dude — what was up with him?! Why was he so broody in every scene??! I laughed every time he was on camera.

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    You mean like this big broody dude? He’s cuteeeeee and grew on me. But still, overall I think some of the acting comes across as super wooden and without emotion/chemistry!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  9. Hannah @ Broc’s Bookcase said:

    I know exactly what you mean about Star Crossed, I really wanted to love it, but it is no Roswell.
    Some great choices, I just finished reading Across the Universe Series and really enjoyed it. Also loved the Host, really hope that the rumours of a second book are true 🙂

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    Me too — I’d love a bit more time in the world of the Host!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  10. Cecelia said:

    Oh, nice list! I’ve read several of these, and I know I *need* to move ACROSS THE UNIVERSE and ALIENATED up the TBR pile. YA sci-fi is the best.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  11. Ryann Dannelly said:

    I’ve never seen Star-Crossed either but I love a good sic-fi or alien-race story. I love the books Across the Universe, The Host, and the Knife of Never Letting Go. Those are some of my favorite books and I wrote reviews for them on my blog as well.

    These Broken Stars, Alienated, Cinder, and The 5 Wave are all on my TBR pile, so I hope that I enjoy them!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  12. Pam@YAEscapefromReality said:

    I actually like Star Crossed, and it’s getting better I think. But what is up with the guy’s hair? He needs to fix that.

    I love alien books so I’ve read all of these except The Knife of Never Letting Go…is that an alien book? Had no idea. Love Obsidian, 5th Wave, Across the Universe, Cinder, The Host…basically all of them!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  13. Ange/Libby Blog said:

    You have so many on here that are on my TBR list even though I was never into Roswell OR Star-crossed. Nice list Anna! I am loving this Top 10 list this week since this is giving me so many ideas for suggestions for for library patrons when they say “I hate to read” when a teacher sends them in to “get a book”. Happy reading my dearie! Hope you are doing well sweets!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  14. Jamie (Jay) said:

    So many books here on my TBR… Instead of a new book though, I think I found me a new series to look up!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  15. Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know said:

    I totally read the Roswell books! Well…not all of them. I so wanted to love Star-Crossed. And we still watch it, but it’s become a take-it-or-leave it kind of show for me. I can watch it if it’s on, but I don’t mind to read while I’m watching which means I’m reading more than watching. Great post.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  16. Katrina said:

    I love this choice of topics and these picks! The Host made it onto my list too 🙂

    Katrina @ Chased By My Imagination

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  17. JB said:

    Eeeep! Love this list! I’ve been wanting more alien books! Unfortunately, I had to DNF Alienated and Across the Universe due to content, which made me really sad. I’ll have to check the rest out!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

  18. Kili said:

    I just want to say THANK YOU SO SO MUCH for this post. When I found it a couple months ago, I had only read 1 book on this list: The Host. Now, I have read a shameful amount…5 (and ALL sequels available) I tried a 6th (for darkness shows the stars), but couldn’t get into it. Basically, I NEED more! I have downloade an additional 3 samples to my kindle and so far am loving 2 of them. Yeah, I have no life…but you nailed this list SPOT ON!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, April 28, 2014

Leave a comment

Name

Email

URL

Comment   Some HTML okay. No links, please.