Thu, February 13, 2014

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor Review

Maybe One Day book cover

Maybe One Day book cover

Maybe One Day
By Melissa Kantor
Publication date: Feb. 18, 2014
HarperTeen, 400 pages
Source: Publisher

Critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend’s life-threatening illness.

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn’t sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia’s crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

— Goodreads.com description

If you read Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor and don’t want to immediately go hug your best friend, I don’t know what’s wrong with you. Watching Zoe and Olivia deal with Olivia’s cancer – ughhhhhhhhh I can’t remember the last book that made me cry so consistently from start to finish.

Like, I had an ACTUAL PUDDLE OF TEARS on my Kindle. I was worried it was going to short out or something.

Beyond the sobfest, there was a lot for me to like in the story: That it didn’t shy away from technical medical explanations, the girls’ hilarious banter and how – if you know what it’s like to go through this – how honest and real a betrayal it was of being with someone in their final hours.

But, there were a few things I didn’t love: Secondary characters who weren’t as fleshed out as I’d like, a so-so romance and a few offhand remarks from the main characters that bordered on offensive but mostly just served to take me out of the story.

A mixed bag, but truly, if you need a good cry, hit this one up. Just have the Kleenex close by!

Anna Reads young adult book blog

Share this:
Facebook Twitter Email
Posted by: Anna   •   In: death, friendship
4

4 Comments

  1. Alexa S. said:

    I always enjoy a book that revolves around a friendship, which is why I’m looking forward to indulging in MAYBE ONE DAY. Even though I’ve heard that there are not-so-great things about it, I’m still excited to witness Olivia and Zoe’s friendship.

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    Definite pros and cons, but I think there’s still a lot to love in how it tugged on my heartstrings!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, February 13, 2014

  2. April said:

    Oh my, I do need a good cry now and then. I think this one will have me bawling like a baby. I have this one on my wishlist already. :o)

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    BAWLING, April. BAWLING.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, February 13, 2014

Leave a comment

Name

Email

URL

Comment   Some HTML okay. No links, please.