Thu, January 30, 2014

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan Review

Uninvited book cover

Uninvited book cover

Uninvited
By Sophie Jordan
Publication date: Jan. 28, 2014
HarperTeen, 384 pages
Source: Publisher

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

— Goodreads.com description

Wow. Wow. Wow.

I’ve always loved Sophie Jordan — both her YA novels and her adult romances — but she’s really taken it up a level with Uninvited.

I was on the edge of my seat from cover to cover with this one. Whenever I was forced to put it down, I found my mind wandering back to Davy’s story.

Poor Davy finds out she’s a carrier of a gene that is, supposedly, more likely to make her a carrier. She’s caged, beaten, manipulated, abandoned, you name it from the minute she finds out. It’s suspenseful and heartbreaking and totally made me cry. Oh, and it’s steamy, of course. It is Sophie Jordan.

Uninvited was a thought-provoking, engaging and powerful story that I know I will be recommending throughout the year to come. My only complaint? The abrupt ending. Sure, it’s a series, but I was like “Wait. What? That’s it?” Boo! I want more!

Anna Reads young adult book blog

More reviews of Sophie Jordan books: Firelight | Vanish

Share this:
Facebook Twitter Email
Posted by: Anna   •   In: romance, sophie jordan, thriller, violence
14

14 Comments

  1. Emily said:

    You’re featured on my blog showcase today!

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    Love it, thanks so much Emily! <3

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, January 30, 2014

  2. DJ said:

    Oooh! So glad to hear you loved this one! I love Sophie’s Firelight series and I’m excited to read Uninvited!

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    Yes, DJ, totally read it. I thought it was really powerful.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, January 30, 2014

  3. Jamie said:

    Got this one in the mail so I’m def planning to read it soon now that you loved it! I wasn’t drawn to it when I originally got the ARC but I’ve been hearing excellent things and now from you so YAY. SOON. And I will text you while reading.

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    OMG PLEASE READ IT AND TEXT. DO IT.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, January 30, 2014

  4. Rebecca @ The Library Canary said:

    I totally agree about the ending. I almost felt like the author ran out of room and then just crammed it all into the last ten pages. But other than that the book was awesome! I definitely cried. I felt so bad for Davy. How awful to be treated like she was when she hadn’t done anything wrong.

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    I really felt SO BAD FOR DAVY. I remember just laying in bed while reading and thinking “THIS IS SO UNFAIR!” It’s a very teenage feeling amplified hahaha!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, January 30, 2014

  5. Pam@YAEscapefromReality said:

    I’m excited to read this book, I just love the premise. I actually just saw Sophie Jordan at YAK fest and she was quite hilarious. She said her inspiration for writing this was some really mean little boy in her kid’s gymboree class or something and it made her really think about the whole nature versus nurture thing. Definitely thought-provoking. Great review and glad you enjoyed it!!

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    Love that story! I’ve never met her but would love to — glad you got such a cool opportunity!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, January 30, 2014

  6. Lisa is Busy Nerding said:

    Obvi you know I adore Sophie bc she wrote about dragons…so this SFF undertaking?! I need it. So much.

    Also I need to watch Roswell! (Your sidebar reminded me)

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    DRAGONS

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, January 30, 2014

  7. Courtney @ The Lit Girl said:

    I just heard about this book about a week ago on the Epic Reads Facebook page and watched the book trailer. IT. LOOKS. SO. GOOD. I cannot wait to read it, and your review just made me that much more excited!

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    It IS so good. Glad to hear you are pumped for it!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, January 30, 2014

Leave a comment

Name

Email

URL

Comment   Some HTML okay. No links, please.