Wed, November 27, 2013

Champion by Marie Lu Review

Champion book cover

Champion book cover

Champion
By Marie Lu
Publication date: Nov. 5, 2013
Putnam Juvenile, 369 pages
Source: Publisher

The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

— Goodreads.com description

I am so obsessed with this series. Please tell me you all are reading or have read it? Previous books/reviews are Legend and Prodigy and each one is better than the last.

Things to love about it:

– It’s dual points of view — which I usually dislike — but the voices are so distinct and the information and perspectives they provide so vital that it’s really enjoyable.

– It’s got it all: Fighting, suspense, loooooooove, political intrigue, family, death, betrayal. All the good things!

– Speaking of loooooooove…June + Day = one of the best dystopian romances out there. Their longing, their fierceness, their stubbornness, the paper clip rings…they all just melted me.

If you have read these books, you’ll remember that Prodigy ended on quite the cliffhanger. And by “quite the” I mean a spoiler SO GUT WRENCHING I WAS LIKE OH NO YOU DIDN’T MARIE LU!

Because of this revelation (I’m being vague so I don’t spoil anyone) and the fact that I’d JUST read Allegiant, I was scared to death. Truly, I read the whole book feeling crazy nervous.

Thankfully, I am super duper thrilled with how the series ended. Totally satisfying.

This is the point in the post where I kick myself for not taking a picture earlier this month when I went out to lunch with Marie (Isn’t that fun?! Thanks, Penguin, for facilitating!). Marie! Next time! Thank you for writing such a beautiful series and for taking the time to let me gush to you about it.

Readers, check this one out. Let me know in the comments if you have or if you will!

Anna Reads young adult book blog

Share this:
Facebook Twitter Email
Posted by: Anna   •   In: dystopian, marie lu, romance
11

11 Comments

  1. Pam@YAEscapefromReality said:

    I loved this book as well, she did such a great job of wrapping everything up and staying true to the characters. The paper clip ring…gah! I get teary-eyed just thinking about it. After Allegiant, I needed this one.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Wed, November 27, 2013

  2. Rebecca @ The Library Canary said:

    I loved the ending to this series!! This is seriously like my favorite dystopian series. June and Day. *sigh* The paperclip ring! I teared up for sure. I was also super nervous after reading Allegiant. I was all ready for screaming “hell no” and being sad, but then it ended so perfectly. I will read anything with Marie Lu’s name on it. So jealous you got to have lunch with her! That’s awesome!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Wed, November 27, 2013

  3. Annette said:

    Probably my favorite dystopian series. I LOVE June & Day. I haven’t read this one yet, but it’s on its way! Great review!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Wed, November 27, 2013

  4. Jahnelle said:

    Yes! I loved it loved it. There was at one point near the end that my Allegiant trauma reared it’s ugly head and I was all “NOT THE MOM!” but it ended well. Phew.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Wed, November 27, 2013

  5. Elizabeth said:

    I was feeling the same way about Champion when I started reading it. I just had this sense of dread (since I’d just read Allegiant) but it was incredible. Honestly though I almost died from the beautifulness of it all!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Wed, November 27, 2013

  6. Tara said:

    Yay for lunch with Marie! Super fun and I’m also way bummed we didn’t take pics–next time for sure!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Wed, November 27, 2013

  7. Nikki @ Foil the Plot said:

    I read and LOVED both Legend and Prodigy and am currently devouring Champion. I think we were all a little shocked at how Roth ended the Divergent series so I’ve been mentally preparing myself for the same here. I do have my thoughts on how I’d like to see things end, but I guess we’ll have to wait and see. Either way, these books just keep on getting better and better! I was in a HUGE dystopian rut and Lu managed to pull me out of it with this series, so for that, I am SUPER thankful!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Wed, November 27, 2013

  8. Ashlee said:

    Ditto.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Wed, November 27, 2013

  9. Saru @ To Read or Not to Read? said:

    I absolutely adored Champion! Even though the ending was good, I still bawled. I think I just didn’t want to say goodbye. Also, YOU GOT TO HAVE LUNCH WITH MARIE LU?! *Dies of jealousy*.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Wed, November 27, 2013

  10. dana said:

    Give me more. That is too much of a cliffhanger to end a series on. Marie Lu, you killed a good series with TWO LINES! 🙁

    [Reply]

    Mike Reply:

    I completely agree. After I spent a week reading the series, that is what she leaves me with. Have we truly entered a time where there is no more happy endings.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Wed, November 27, 2013

Leave a comment

Name

Email

URL

Comment   Some HTML okay. No links, please.