Thu, February 21, 2013

Shades of Earth by Beth Revis Review

Shades of Earth book cover

Shades of Earth book cover

Shades of Earth
By Beth Revis
Publication date: Jan. 15, 2013
Razorbill, 369 pages
Source: Borrowed

The final book in the New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Galactica and Prometheus!

Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceship Godspeed behind. They’re ready to start life afresh–to build a home–on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion miles across the universe to experience.

But this new Earth isn’t the paradise Amy had been hoping for. There are giant pterodactyl-like birds, purple flowers with mind-numbing toxins, and mysterious, unexplained ruins that hold more secrets than their stone walls first let on. The biggest secret of all? Godspeed’s former passengers aren’t alone on this planet. And if they’re going to stay, they’ll have to fight.

Amy and Elder must race to discover who–or what–else is out there if they are to have any hope of saving their struggling colony and building a future together. They will have to look inward to the very core of what makes them human on this, their most harrowing journey yet. Because if the colony collapses? Then everything they have sacrificed–friends, family, life on Earth–will have been for nothing.

— Goodreads.com description

I have to praise Beth Revis for one thing about this book specially: In a million years, I would never have guessed what Shades of Earth was about. I mean, sure, I read the book description. But the setting was so hugely different from the previous two books that it still felt surprising. I missed the spaceship, but it was ultimately a refreshing change of pace.

I had some issues with the finale to this series — namely I was SO ANGRY with Amy for practically the entire book — and it was probably my least favorite of the three, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. I can’t complain about Amy’s actions, really, as what I’ve always loved about this series is that although Amy and Elder were drawn together instantly, it took a looooooong time and a lot of work for them to get together. In the world of instalove, it felt special to watch their trepidation and the growth of their relationship.

Fans of sci fi: If you haven’t read this series yet, all three books out there, so now is the time! Get on it!

Previous reviews:
Across the Universe
A Million Suns

Anna Reads young adult book blog

Share this:
Facebook Twitter Email
Posted by: Anna   •   In: beth revis, science fiction
10

10 Comments

  1. Fara @ Tumbling In Books said:

    Gah! I can’t believe I haven’t read this book yet! I TOTALLY should though since all 3 books are out :) Awesome review, Anna! :D

    Fara @ Tumbling In Books

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, February 21, 2013

  2. manda-rae said:

    It’s so interesting to see other thoughts on this. I absolutely love this series, it’s probably my favorite. And I had issues with Amy’s dad but not with her. Glad to see other opinions that make me step back from my fandom and think on why I loved this series…

    [Reply]

    Anna Reply:

    Oh I LOVE it too! Book 3 just threw me for a loop and I didn’t love it as much as the other two. Still, a fan!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, February 21, 2013

  3. Jamie said:

    I seriously need to get on this one! I need a really good science fiction series in my life!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, February 21, 2013

  4. Kristilyn (Reading in Winter) said:

    YES! I was so angry with Amy for most of this book, too. I agree — it wasn’t my favourite of the series, but it was still good. I thought the ending was a bit of a cop-out, but at least the first two books were pretty darn awesome!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, February 21, 2013

  5. jen said:

    I was sad to see this end :( But ughhh, did I miss Godspeed. STAY IN SPACE FOREVER.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, February 21, 2013

  6. Beth Revis – Shades of Earth | Fyrefly's Book Blog said:

    [...] Reviews: Anna Reads, Buried in Books, The Fairy Tale Nerd and more at the Book Blogs Search Engine. Have you reviewed [...]

    Posted on: Thu, February 21, 2013

  7. Review: Shades of Earth by Beth Revis (Across the Universe #2) – Never Too Fond of Books said:

    [...] Anna Reads [...]

    Posted on: Thu, February 21, 2013

  8. http://spi-fm.uca.es/spdef/tools/mw4sp/index.php/The_Best_Massage_Tips_You_Can_Find said:

    Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Many thanks, However I am experiencing issues
    with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I am unable
    to subscribe to it. Is there anybody else having similar RSS problems?

    Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, February 21, 2013

  9. bitterless said:

    Thanks for sharing such a fastidious thought,
    piece of writing is good, thats why i have read it fully

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Thu, February 21, 2013

Leave a comment

Name

Email

URL

Comment   Some HTML okay. No links, please.