Mon, July 30, 2012

Confessions of an Angry Girl by Louise Rozett Review

Confessions of an Angry Girl book cover

Confessions of an Angry Girl
By Louise Rozett

Publication date: Aug. 28, 2012
Harlequin, 304 pages
Source: Publisher, via NetGalley

Rose Zarelli, self-proclaimed word geek and angry girl, has some CONFESSIONS to make… #1: I’m livid all the time. Why? My dad died. My mom barely talks. My brother abandoned us. I think I’m allowed to be irate, don’t you?

#2: I make people furious regularly. Want an example? I kissed Jamie Forta, a badass guy who “might” be dating a cheerleader. She is now enraged and out for blood. Mine.

#3: High school might as well be Mars. My best friend has been replaced by an alien, and I see red all the time. (Mars is red and “seeing red” means being angry-get it?)

Here are some other vocab words that describe my life: Inadequate. Insufferable. Intolerable.

(Don’t know what they mean? Look them up yourself.) (Sorry. That was rude.)

— Goodreads.com description

Confessions of an Angry Girl by Louise Rozett was a real treat, considering my constant craving for more books about normal girls. I’m mean “real girls” in the vein of Ruby Oliver, Jessica Darling and Frankie Landau-Banks. Girls who are hilarious and honest…and maybe just a little bit mental, too. Who can’t relate to that? I devour these books!

While Confessions of an Angry Girl may not have made its way to the top of my favorites list with those other girls, it was still just plain fun to read. It’s not going to stick with me forever, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

But, a warning: THIS IS A SERIES. Why am I being shouty about this? Because if you get to the end, and it’s just a “to be continued,” I hope you won’t be as “WHAT?!” as I was.

Also, I was a nervous to read this knowing that the main character was 14. So young! What fun can be had at 14? Turns out a lot, but regardless I would have felt better about that if I’d known from the get-go that we were going to have time to watch her grow up over multiple books.

Ahh well, what can you do? Now you know, and will avoid my mistakes. You’re welcome. Now please go and look up Confessions of an Angry Girl for a realistic, fun summer read. Enjoy!

Anna Reads young adult book blog

Share this:
Facebook Twitter Email
Posted by: Anna   •   In: friendship, humor, romance
11

11 Comments

  1. Kayla @ Bengal Reads said:

    I’m right with you on the ending because I SO was not expecting that… nor did I know that this would be a series lol. I really enjoyed this book and while I agree that it probably won’t stick with me either… I still enjoyed it immensely and will definitely be reading the rest of the books when they release! Great review, thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, July 30, 2012

  2. Lori said:

    I just finished this yesterday and I was so pleasantly surprised! I really enjoyed it. Rose was a fantastic main character.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, July 30, 2012

  3. Estelle said:

    I’m not the biggest Ruby Oliver fan but I do love Jess Darling. This book sounds up my alley though, and as you will probably see, I added it to my goodreads list 🙂 So thanks… for adding to my list again!

    P.S. My life wasn’t too awesome at 14 so it’s fun to read about other people who may have had more adventure. 😉

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, July 30, 2012

  4. Tara @ Hobbitsies said:

    Eeee I have heard AMAZING things about this book lately! Also I’m glad to know it’s a series before I go into it, thanks for the heads up!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, July 30, 2012

  5. Ashley said:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed this book too!! I absolutely loved it! And I was the same as you… I had no freakin’ idea it was a series until I got to the very end!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, July 30, 2012

  6. We Heart YA said:

    A contemporary series?? How interesting. And it sounds pretty compelling. Thanks for writing up your thoughts!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, July 30, 2012

  7. Kristilyn (Reading in Winter) said:

    I was nervous about the main character being 14, too. I thought it might be too young of a read for me, but it was perfect! I’m really not turned off by it being a series — I’m really looking forward to reading the next one. It’s nice to have a series that doesn’t have anything to do with zombies, vampires, or the end of the world.

    Great review!

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, July 30, 2012

  8. Randi M said:

    I’ve been reading some really positive feedback on this and, this being the year of YA contemporary for me, I’m thinking I’m definitely putting Confessions of an Angry Girl on my to-read-soon list. Though perhaps not too soon as I go bonkers when I have to wait ages for the next book in series! (Clockwork Princess, anyone?!) Great review, Anna. 🙂

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, July 30, 2012

  9. Alexa @ Alexa Loves Books said:

    This sounds like it would be a lot of fun to read! I am loving contemporary novels this summer, and this looks like one I should add to the list.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, July 30, 2012

  10. brandileigh2003 said:

    I wasn’t expecting it to be a series either.
    I enjoyed Rose’s character too.
    Thanks for review,
    Brandi from Blkosiner’s Book Blog

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, July 30, 2012

  11. directioner1999 said:

    I enjoyed reading this book and the good thing is that it’s a series. And guess what? Im actually 14 yrs old.

    [Reply]

    Posted on: Mon, July 30, 2012

Leave a comment

Name

Email

URL

Comment   Some HTML okay. No links, please.